• Dr. Mossa-Basha Awarded GE Radiology Research Academic Fellowship

    February 10, 2016

    Zachary Eagle

    Mahmud Mossa-Basha, M.D.Assistant Professor

     Since 1992, GERRAF fellowships have been one of the most sought-after awards in academic radiology. I am proud to announce that one of our own faculty, Mahmud Mossa-Basha in Neuroradiology was awarded one of the 2015 awards.

    His project is "Diffusion Tensor Imaging of the Cervical Spinal Cord as a Prognostic Tool for Acute Cervical Spinal Cord Injury", which will evaluate the accuracy of MR-DTI metrics at the time of cervical spinal cord injury in predicting the success of standard rehabilitation therapy. The goal is that if DTI is proven to be a reliable predictor of rehabilitation success, patients that are likely to be non-responders can be guided to more effective therapies.

    GE Radiology Research Academic Fellowship (GERRAF) Fellows are selected by the Association of University Radiologists from among board-certified academic radiologists based on the strength of their commitment to research careers; the quality, creativity and vision of their proposed research projects; and the continuing support provided by their institutions.

    UW Radiology faculty have now garnered at least seven GERRAF awards, and Mahmud joins past recipients, including:

    Christoph Lee, 2012
    James Fink, 2009
    Wendy DeMartini, 2006
    Janie Lee, 2005
    Yoshimi Anzai, 2000
    C. Craig Blackmore, 1998
    Jeffrey Jarvik, 1995

    Mahmud joins a list that we are proud of.

  • Dr. Jarvik Awarded Radiology Alliance for Health Services Research Achievement Award

    February 10, 2016

    Zachary Eagle

    Jeffrey Jarvik, M.D., M.P.H.Professor
    Director, Health Services Research Center

    Our own Dr. Jerry Jarvik was awarded the 2015 Radiology Alliance for Health Services Research (RAHSR) Achievement Award.  The RAHSR Awards Committee selects a distinguished researcher whom they feel has made outstanding contributions to health services research. This award is presented at the AUR Annual Awards Ceremony. The Association of University Radiologists (AUR) consists of over 3,000 academic radiologists, residents, and fellows. The AUR encourages excellence in radiological laboratory and clinical investigation, teaching and clinical practice; stimulates an interest in academic radiology as a medical career; advances radiology as a medical science; and represents academic radiology at a national level.

  • Dr. David Marcinek Receives Unsolicited Award of $60,000

    February 10, 2016

    Zachary Eagle

    David Marcinek, Ph.D.Associate Professor

    Dr. Marcinek received an unsolicited award of $60,000 from the Glenn Foundation for Medical Research.
    Glenn Awards were initiated in 2007, to provide unsolicited funds to researchers investigating the biology of aging.
    Award recipients are selected from nominees provided by an anonymous scientific advisory committee. Applications are not accepted.

  • Emergency Radiology Exhibit Awarded RSNA Certificate of Merit

    February 2, 2016

    Zachary Eagle

    Drs. Gross, Sandstrom, Robinson, Lehnert, and Voelzke were awarded the RSNA Certificate of Merit for their exhibit So You Think You Can Grade - Renal Trauma.  Congratulations!


    RSNA Certificate of Merit--ER137-ED-X


  • Talking Wellness

    January 25, 2016

    Radiology Staff

    For an employee, a workplace wellness program might seem like a nice perk. But doctors in the UW School of Medicine believe it’s much more than that.