Four UW Radiologists to receive Distinguished Investigator Awards

Dr. Christoph Lee

A photo of Dr. Janie Lee. Dr. Lee is wearing a brown blouse with a gold necklace and glasses. She smiles at the camera in front of a neutral grey background.

Dr. Janie Lee

Congratulations to UW Radiology doctors and professors Christoph Lee, Janie Lee, Mahmud Mossa-Basha and Habib Rahbar who have each been selected to receive 2023 Distinguished Investigator Awards from The Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research (the Academy).

This prestigious honor recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to the field of medical imaging. The 2023 class will be welcomed as part of the broader Council, which includes a network of nearly 500 imaging investigators.

Each of the honorees nominated by academia or a member society have met the following criteria:

Dr. Mahmud Mossa-Basha

Dr. Habib Rahbar wears a dark suit, white button up, and a grey tie while smiling for a headshot.

Dr. Habib Rahbar

• Primary professional appointment in an academic Department of Radiology
• Recipient of a MD, DO, and/or PhD degree(s)
• Academic rank of at least Associate Professor or its equivalent
• Sustained productivity, including at least 25 peer-reviewed scientific research publications in which the awardee is the first author or senior author
• Demonstrated accomplishments as an independent investigator with a substantial ongoing research program, including at least six cumulative years of funding as the Principal Investigator of a major competitive extramural research grant

The physicians will receive their honors in-person at the Academy’s ceremony during the Radiological Society of North America’s annual conference in Chicago on Tuesday, November 28, 2023.

Share this story: